Basic and Translational Science

The Division of Basic and Translational Science was established in 2015 as the fourth division in the Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology. The division is composed of the lab-based faculty members who have no clinical activity and are not directly involved in patient care. Currently, the division has 19 PhD basic and translational scientists, who are currently housed in the Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology's Divisions of Hematology, Medical Oncology, and Stem Cell Transplantation and Immunotherapy. These members are maintained in the correspondence and activities of their current division assignments. In addition, several physician-scientists with significant lab research activity in the Department are also included as part of all division correspondence and activity, but are not formal members of the division.

The division engages in three activities: (1) research discussion and review, (2) professional development and evaluation, and (3) analysis and presentation of research activity and policy within the Department and Emory University. These activities are part of a monthly division meeting. Each of these is discussed in detail in the proceeding sections. The main goal of the division is to promote science within the Department and enhance interactions between the basic researchers and the clinical faculty, and such fruitful collaborations will be evidenced by publication of high impact papers and submission of team science grants in the form of SPOREs, P01s and R01s that include both the clinical and lab-based faculty. Moreover, the division also provides the Department with a more appropriate means of evaluating lab research-based faculty by scientists to provide better feedback to both the faculty and the Department, and plays a central role in the hiring of all new research intensive faculty members. In addition, monthly meetings will also provide a platform to help scientists better understand how research policy is set or how research dollars are administered, and where they stand within Emory University.

Affiliated Faculty